The State of California administers two programs to assist low-income blind, disabled or senior citizens pay property taxes. The following programs have maximum income levels and have different provisions:
Property Tax Postponement
Homeowner And Renter Assistance
Property Tax Postponement
If you are blind, disabled, or at least 62 years of age and meet certain income restrictions, you may defer the payment of property taxes on your house, condominium or mobilehome. Under this program, taxes would be paid by the State and the deferred payment would create a lien on the property.
Property Tax Postponement Program Suspended
On February 20, 2009, the Governor signed Senate Bill X3 8 (Chapter 4, Statutes of 2009), which immediately suspends the Senior Citizens' Property Tax Deferral Program. This legislation prohibits the filing of claims for property tax postponement and prohibits the Controller from accepting claims filed after February 20, 2009. As a result of the program suspension, the Controller will no longer accept claims for property tax postponement pending modification or repeal of this new law. However, the Controller's Office will continue processing claims postmarked prior to February 20, 2009. The interest rate for fiscal year 2008-2009 will be 5%.
On September 30, 2011, the Governor signed AB 1090, (Chapter 369, Statutes of 2011) which allows each county, if they wish, to implement a property tax postponement program for properties located in their county. The voluntary county-run property tax postponement program is effective January 1, 2012.
NOTE: This program is not currently available in Orange County. Only the County Board of Supervisors has the authority to implement this program.
Update from the State of California, Controller's Office
On September 28, 2014, the Governor signed AB 2231 (Statutes of 2014, Chapter 703), which allows reinstatement of the property tax postponement program with some changes . Applications may be filed with the State Controller's Office starting September 1, 2016. Please view more information at the Controller's website.
Homeowners & Renter Assistance
If you are blind, disabled or at least 62 years old and meet State income restrictions, the State may reimburse a portion of the property taxes paid on your house, condominium, or manufactured home. This program does not create a lien on your property.
Update from State of California, Franchise Tax Board
Making Orange County a safe, healthy, and fulfilling place to live, work, and play, today and for generations to come, by providing outstanding, cost-effective regional public services.
You Are Now Leaving the County of Orange Official Portal