SJN Named Chair of OCTA Transit Committee

Press Release

Contact: Monica Banken 714.834.3110
Supervisor Janet Nguyen Named Chair of OCTA Transit Committee

(Santa Ana, CA) Supervisor Janet Nguyen has been named Chair of the Transit Committee of the Orange County Transportation Authority (OCTA) by OCTA Chairman Chris Norby. As the representative of the First District, Supervisor Janet Nguyen understands the importance of public transportation and the vital role that OCTA plays in the lives of those living in Central Orange County. As Chair of the Transit Committee, Supervisor Janet Nguyen will oversee the committee’s review of transit related contracts and concerns and provide recommendations to the Orange County Transportation Authority Board of Directors on these issues.

Some of the issues facing the Transit Committee this year include a review of the many services OCTA offers, such as fixed route bus, express route bus, bus rapid transit, ACCESS service, paratransit, and Metrolink. In addition, the Committee will review the planning of upcoming bus and commuter rail services, transit fares and schedules, capital projects, and future transit programs such as the senior mobility program and Go Local program, which encourages communities to link with existing transit options.

Along with the assignment of Supervisor Janet Nguyen, Garden Grove Mayor Pro-Tem Mark Rosen has been named the Chair of the Highways Committee for OCTA. With both Supervisor Janet Nguyen and Mayor Pro-Tem Rosen sitting as the Chairs of their respective committees, the First District is now represented by the Chairs of two of OCTA’s six major committees.

Supervisor Janet Nguyen represents the First District on the Orange County Board of Supervisors. She represents over 600,000 people, covering the Cities of Garden Grove, Santa Ana, Westminster, and the unincorporated community of Midway City. Orange County ranks sixth most populous county and the county with the seventh highest annual budget in the nation.