Your Board of Supervisors

The cities and unincorporated areas in Orange County are divided into five Supervisorial Districts. Although the districts vary in physical size, their populations are approximately the same, and each district elects a Supervisor to a four-year term. Each Supervisor can serve two four-year terms.

Terms are staggered so that all Districts do not have elections at the same time. The Second, Fourth, and Fifth Districts will have elections in 2014, and the First and Third Districts will have elections in 2016.

These five elected officials comprise the Orange County Board of Supervisors. Every year, the Board elects two of its members to serve as Chairman and Vice Chairman.

Who They Are

Todd Spitzer, Chairman
Third District
Lisa Bartlett, Vice Chair
Fifth District
First District
Michelle Steel
Second District
Shawn Nelson
Fourth District


Board offices are located in the Hall of Administration at Santa Ana Boulevard and Broadway in Santa Ana. The Board’s mailing address is 333 W. Santa Ana Blvd., Santa Ana, CA 92701.

What They Do

The Board oversees the management of the County government and its many special districts. In its legislative duties, the Board adopts ordinances, resolutions and minute orders within the limits prescribed by State law. As an executive body, the Board:

  • Establishes policy
  • Approves the annual budget
  • Appoints a County Executive Officer, County Counsel, Clerk of the Board, Internal Auditor, Public Defender and Public Guardian
  • Approves contracts for projects and services
  • Conducts public hearings on land-use and other matters
  • Makes appointments to boards, committees and commissions

The Board’s legislative and executive activities are conducted at public meetings with certain personnel and legal matters discussed in closed sessions.

Where They Are Seated

The Board of Supervisors’ dais from left:

  • First District Supervisor
  • Second District Supervisor 
    Michelle Steel
  • Third District Supervisor
    Todd Spitzer, Chairman
  • Fourth District Supervisor
    Shawn Nelson, Chairman
  • Fifth District Supervisor
    Lisa Bartlett, Vice Chair

Below the Board of Supervisors’ dais from left:

  • County Counsel
  • Clerk of the Board
  • County Executive Officer

Board staff members sit at the table to the Board's right of the podium. County staff members sit at the table to the Board's left of the podium. A Clerk of the Board's Deputy sits next to the podium.

Term Information

Name Election or Appointment Current Tenure
Supervisor, First District
333 W. Santa Ana Blvd.,
5th Floor
Santa Ana, CA 92701
(714) 834-3110

Board of Supervisors Chairman Shawn Nelson has set Jan. 27, 2015, as the date for a winner-take-all special election to fill the vacancy created by the election of former 1st District Supervisor Janet Nguyen to the state Senate.

Michelle Steel
Supervisor, Second District

333 W. Santa Ana Blvd.,
5th Floor
Santa Ana, CA 92701
(714) 834-3220

Elected 11/4/14, Sworn in 1/05/15

4 year term, 1/5/15 - 1/7/19

Todd Spitzer, Chairman
Supervisor, Third District
333 W. Santa Ana Blvd.,
5th Floor
Santa Ana, CA 92701
(714) 834-3330

Elected 6/5/12, Sworn in 1/07/13

4 year term, 1/7/13 - 1/2/17

Shawn Nelson
Supervisor, Fourth District
333 W. Santa Ana Blvd.,
5th Floor
Santa Ana, CA 92701
(714) 834-3440

Special Election 6/8/10, Sworn in 6/22/10 Re-elected 11/4/14

Partial term, 6/22/10 - 1/3/11
4 year term, 1/3/11 - 1/5/15
4 year term, 1/5/15 - 1/7/19

Lisa Bartlett, Vice Chair
Supervisor, Fifth District

333 W. Santa Ana Blvd.,
5th Floor
Santa Ana, CA 92701
(714) 834-3550

Elected 11/4/14, Sworn in early to fill Bates’ unexpired term

Partial term, 12/2/14 - 1/5/15
4 year term, 1/5/15 - 1/7/19

Internet Broadcast

Live webcast of Board meetings can be viewed online. In addition, video-on-demand of past meetings from January 2007 are also available.

Cable Broadcast

Board meetings are videotaped and aired on local cable stations throughout Orange County. For more information including the time, day of the week and channel that Board meetings are broadcast in your area please check the Board TV Schedule.

Meeting Agendas

The agenda sequence for a Board meeting is:

  1. Invocation
  2. Pledge of Allegiance
  3. Presentations and introductions
  4. Consent Calendar
  5. Discussion Calendar
  6. Public hearings
  7. Closed session (if necessary)
  8. Public, Board and CEO comments/travel reports (may be heard before closed session at the direction of the Chairman) 
  9. Adjournment See glossary for explanation of terms.

Advance copies of the agenda and agenda staff reports are available Clerk of the Board and through that office at (714) 834-2206.

Updates to the agenda, including supplementary items and any other special meeting notices, are available online and on the Clerk of the Board’s Info-line at 714.834.3453.

The County’s Opinion Online service allows for comments on agenda items to be made via the Internet. This service is available from noon Wednesday to noon Friday in the week preceding a Board meeting. Comments are processed and distributed to the Board, County Executive Officer, Grand Jury and County Counsel.

When They Meet

The Board regularly meets on Tuesday in the Hall of Administration, Board Hearing Room, 333 W. Santa Ana Blvd., first floor, Santa Ana. Meetings usually begin at 9:30 a.m. A complete list of meeting times and dates is also available.

Addressing the Board

Any member of the public may request to be heard on any item on the agenda.

  1. In order to notify the Chairman that you would like to address an item, you must complete a speaker request form located by the agendas in the Board Hearing Room.
  2. Submit your completed form to the Clerk of the Board’s Deputy seated to the left of the podium before the item you wish to address is called.
  3. The Clerk will advise the Chairman that you wish to speak on an agenda item when the item is called. Items within the jurisdiction of the Board, but not on the agenda will be heard during the “Public Comments” portion of the meetings. No action can be taken on any item not appearing on the agenda.
  4. When the Clerk calls your name, please approach the podium. It is recommended that you state your name and place of residence for the audio and video record.
  5. Remarks are limited to three minutes per speaker on any agenda item and a cumulative total of nine minutes for the entire meeting, unless the Chairman sets another time limit.
  6. If you have documents for the Board, please bring eight copies and hand them to the Clerk of the Board’s assistant when you approach the podium.
  7. If you have special needs required to address the Board, the Clerk of the Board can assist you. If you have any questions, please call the Board Services Division 72 hours prior to the meeting at 714.834.2206.

County Mission Statement

“Making Orange County a safe, healthy, and fulfilling place to live, work, and play, today and for generations to come, by providing outstanding, cost-effective regional public services.”

Glossary of Terms

Term Definition
Consent Calendar

Consists of routine items that normally do not require individual consideration

Discussion Calendar

Consists of items considered by the Board that require discussion and separate votes


An action by the Board of Supervisors

Ordinances, Resolutions and Minute Orders

Legal records documenting Board action

Public Hearing

An opportunity required by law enabling residents to speak for or against certain matters before the Board takes action

Public Comments

A time at the end of each Board meeting for individuals to comment on matters not on the agenda, but within the jurisdiction of the Board

For more information about your Board of Supervisors and its duties, call the Clerk of the Board at 714.834.2206 or visit their website.