Board of Supervisors

The five Board Supervisors are elected by the voters of their district to four-year terms. Each district varies in geographical size, however, the populations are equal at approximately 600,000 residents. Community members may contact their Supervisor via phone, in writing or during public comments at a Board meeting.

The Board oversees the management of County government and many special districts. The Board's legislative and executive activities are conducted at public meetings with certain personnel and legal matters discussed in closed sessions. Board meetings are held at the Hall of Administration in Santa Ana.

Mission Statement

Making Orange County a safe, healthy, and fulfilling place to live, work, and play, today and for generations to come, by providing outstanding, cost-effective regional public services.

Vision Statement for Business Values

We strive to be a high quality model governmental agency that delivers services to the community in ways that demonstrate:

  • Excellence – Provide responsive and timely services
  • Leadership – Leverage available resources as we partner with regional businesses and other governmental entities
  • Stewardship – Seek cost-effective and efficient methods
  • Innovation – Use leading-edge innovative technology

Vision Statement for Cultural Values

We commit to creating a positive, service-oriented culture which:

  • Attracts and retains the best and the brightest
  • Fosters a spirit of collaborations and partnership internally and externally
  • Supports creativity, innovation, and responsiveness
  • Demonstrates a “can-do” attitude in accomplishing timely results
  • Creates a fun, fulfilling, and rewarding working environment
  • Models the following core values in everything we do:
    • Respect
    • Integrity
    • Caring
    • Trust
    • Excellence
Supervisor Spitzer Board Chairman
Todd Spitzer,
Supervisor, 3rd District
(714) 834-3330
Anaheim (Portions of), Irvine (Portions of), Orange, Tustin, Villa Park, Yorba Linda
Supervisor Lisa Bartlett Vice Chair
Lisa A. Bartlett,
Supervisor, 5th District
(714) 834-3550
Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, Irvine (Portions of), Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano
Andrew Do,
Supervisor, 1st District
(714) 834-3110
Fountain Valley (Portions of), Garden Grove, Santa Ana, Westminster
  Michelle Steel,
Supervisor, 2nd District
(714) 834-3220
Buena Park (Portions of), Costa Mesa, Cypress, Fountain Valley (Portions of), Huntington Beach, La Palma, Los Alamitos, Newport Beach, Seal Beach, Stanton
Supervisor Nelson Shawn Nelson,
Supervisor, 4th District
(714) 834-3440

Anaheim (Portions of), Brea, Buena Park (Portions of), Fullerton, La Habra, Placentia